September 5, 2013

Book Review: Cache a Predator

18192713
Title: Cache a Predator
Author: M. Weidenbenner
Publication Date: July 30th 2013
Rating: 
ARC provided by the author
Officer Brett Reed will do anything to gain custody of his five-year-old daughter, Quinn. But when the man-hating judge grants Brett’s drug-addicted ex-wife custody and slaps him with a protective order for losing his temper, he fears for Quinn’s safety. Who will protect her now?

When Quinn is found abandoned on the streets, Brett’s worse nightmares turn toward a dark path. The child is placed in a temporary foster home until Child Protective Services can complete an assessment. It should only take a few days.

But a lot can happen in a few days.

Especially when there’s a deranged psychopath on the loose, someone who’s attacking pedophiles, someone who wants to protect children like Quinn, and someone who’s planting body parts in geocaching sites.

Cache a Predator is a novel about a father’s love, justice, and the unhinged game of hide-the-cache.

Readers who like BONES and DEXTER may like this book.

Death was like a low-pressure system. It could occur in any season, causing storms in people so great it changed them. 

Brett is a policeman who is having trouble accepting that the court gave the custody of his daughter to his mentally sick and drug abusive ex-wife, Ali. Although he was advised not to go anywhere his daughter, he finds it difficult especially when his ex-wife can’t seem to take care of her. She was locked up in her own world, wallowing in self-pity, when she has a duty to look after her child. He can’t believe he ever married her. 

As he was busy thinking about ways to make the court believe that the custody could be given to him, a call came up at their police headquarters regarding a man who was found out drenched in blood at his lower extremities and without a penis already. Then after a few days, they received a call from geo cache hunters regarding a rotting human part put in ziplock and were included in geo cache boxes. The victims grew more in number as well as the geo cache hunters who found the rotting treasures. As the investigation went on, it was found out that the victims have a record of child sexual abuse. In short, they were perverts. 

One thing I liked about this book was the fact that the author has written a suspense/detective crime novel with a very unusual plot. There are so many books in this genre and this was the first time I’ve read about something like this. The author incorporated the suspense part with the value of a family in the story. The two elements didn’t overlap instead they supported each other and that made this book stood out. At some points, the emotions Brett evoked towards his daughter overwhelmed me. He depicts the ideal characteristic of the ideal man women dream to catch. 

It turns out that the psycho penis mutilator had been a victim of sexual abuse. All his victims were rendered unconscious by using chloroform on a rag. He injects them with anesthetic, uses a rubber tourniquet to cut off the penis circulation and use something like scalpel to amputate it. 

The psycho really thinks of himself as a do-gooder and wants to notify the whole area about the sexual offenders that roams their town. If this is the case then, Brett is also in danger since a rumor is spreading regarding him as a sexually abusive father and since they haven’t had a clue as to the psycho’s real identity, they don’t know what’s going to be his next move. Though I applaud myself for identifying him even before the police. 

This story is like an advocacy to stop sexual abuse. As portrayed in this book, the victims may end up with serious mental problems if not dealt with. To the abusers you don’t know what you put your victims into. They’re lucky if they got to live their lives after the abuse but some are not as strong-willed as the others and end up mentally damaged for life.


Michelle is a fulltime employee of God’s kingdom, writing and encouraging writers every day. She’s often a sucker for emotional stories, her sensitive side fueling the passion for her character’s plights, often giving her the ability to show readers the “other” side of the story. She grew up in the burbs of Detroit with five brothers. No sisters. Each time her mom brought the boy bundle home from the hospital Michelle cried, certain her mom liked boys better than girls. But when her brothers pitched in with the cooking, cleaning, and babysitting—without drama, Michelle discovered having brothers wasn’t so bad. They even taught her how to take direct criticism without flinching, which might come in handy with book reviews.

Michelle is living her dream—writing every day and thanking God for the stories He puts in her path. When Michelle isn’t writing she’s winning ugly on the tennis court. She’s known as “Queen of the Rim Shots.” No joke. It’s ugly.
Website | Twitter

1 comment:

  1. Hi Milka-
    Thanks for reading and reviewing Cache a Predator! I love your fun site here and what you do for authors.
    Best to you!
    Michelle Weidenbenner

    ReplyDelete

Hello there! I'd love to hear from you. So feel free to express your feelings or opinions on the comment box. :D